Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

School of Arts and Sciences. Department of Earth and Planetary Science



  • Existence: 1968-

In 1885, George Huntington Williams formed the Department of Geology at the university. The Department of Oceanography was created in 1952. In 1968, the Departments of Geology and Oceanography, along with some faculty members from Geography, Environmental Engineering, Mechanics, and Statistics merged to become the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences.

Dr. Thomas Haine joined the faculty in 2000 and became chair in 2012.

Source: Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences records finding aid (RG.04.170) Source:

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Hans-Peter Eugster papers

Identifier: MS-0209
Overview Hans-Peter Eugster taught geochemistry at Johns Hopkins University from 1958 until his death in 1987. The collection consists of Eugster's professional papers dating from 1944-1988. These document all phases of Eugster's varied scientific career from collecting raw data up through finished publications for most of his projects.